[RANT] Why little kids should be freaking banned from Facebook

Let’s face it, EVERYONE’s using Facebook these days. Grandparents, aunts, uncles, third cousins twenty-two times removed (I don’t even know what that means XD)… even your little 10 year-old siblings and their friends.

Now, I’m all for social networking when it’s not a massive popularity contest and stuff, but seriously, why doesn’t Facebook ban all the silly little kids on there? The site was supposed to be geared towards 18+ people in the first place to reconnect with elementary school/high school friends. Now it’s being raped by developers trying to sell their crap, pedophiles who got banned from myspace and little kids who are need of an ego boost because they don’t think they have enough friends.

You might be asking: “Jess, where the heck is this rant coming from?” Well, my inbox just recently got nice and spammed by e-mails saying “FIRST LAST wrote on your wall.” Now normally just one, maybe two wall posts from someone is nice every now and then, but when it’s 7 in a row all saying “TAKE THIS QUIZ TO LEARN SOMETHING STUPID” then that’s just plain annoying. (Obviously I blocked the app that was creating all these wall posts so I wouldn’t have to go deleting every single one of them.) And before you ask, yes, this spam was the result of a little kid. 10 year-old I think. Give or take a year.

And you know what really annoyed me? About 4 posts in this girl (who is actually a complete stranger to me, my mom told me she knew her so I figured what the heck, let’s make this girl feel good about making a new friend) strikes up an IM convo with me like nothing’s happening at all. I was planning to ask her to stop spamming my wall and stuff but then she asked if I remembered who she was and I kinda drew up a blank. Thankfully by the time I’d remembered the spamming stopped.

And you know what’s even creepier? One of my little brother Ted’s friends decides to IM me while I’m clearing up my wall. (Feeling abnormally popular with little people all of a sudden…) But no, he doesn’t open with a casual/NORMAL “hi” or “hey” or “what’s up” or “‘sup home skillet.” Instead, he asks straight-up (quoted from the conversation): “whats your mom doin”.

THAT IS REALLY FREAKING CREEPY. SERIOUSLY. THAT’S NOT SOMETHING YOU ASK PEOPLE.

And so, that is my rant for the day, why little kids don’t belong on/should be banned from Facebook.

EDIT: Okay, I just found out from my mom that the kid who asked what my mom was doing apparently asked everyone else in my family that was on at the time (everyone was on XD Well, except my dad, but he’s on a plane to Germany right now :P) what other people were doing…

Nope, still creepy.

    • shanno26
    • May 9th, 2010

    Excellent rant and totally true. I hate the fact that I’m constantly getting friend requests from people who apparently know my younger cousins and just want a bigger friend count, or the fact that it seems the younger they are, the more stupid games they’re playing and spamming up my newsfeed. I agree with you…ban them all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

