Something on the WordPress home page annoys me.

Well, actually, it’s whenever there’s a “Website X is also available in language Y” somewhere that I get annoyed.

I mean, what’s the point of putting “We’re also available in your language!” if people aren’t even going to understand that sentence. I mean, it’s kinda cool for us bilingual people because then I could just check out WordPress in French for fun, but otherwise, you’re not gonna achieve much by putting a random link that’s labelled “Français” when French people won’t know what it’s for.

Now, obviously I’m just making an example of WordPress since it was the first thing I saw today that reminded me of this, but I get annoyed at other websites too:

  • Google.ca: “Google.ca offered in: français”
  • Wikipedia: the “Languages” tab (now usually we can take for granted that it’s easy to find and stuff, but now that it’s a tab and I’m reading some page in Chinese and I click all the tabs looking for the languages one but there aren’t any other languages so in the end I end up trying to read the pathetically translated Chinese off Google translate and… where was I going with this? XD)
  • Any other site with that stupid “Also offered in…” crap

So, uh, WordPress admins, if you’re reading my little rant here, can someone change that “WordPress.com is also available in Français.” to “WordPress.com est aussi disponible en Français.”? XD

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

