German pop, anyone?

Been checking out some German pop groups lately, not really sure what my motivation was…

BUT DAAAANG, these people sound so J-pop-y! Well, maybe this is just the standard for German pop groups, but aaagh, that silly voice in my head keeps saying “Hi J-pop!”

Anyone heard the song “Butterfly” by SMiLE.dk? Well, Smile.dk’s a Swedish group, but they got a lot of attention in Japan due to their J-pop-y sound, to the point that Konami licensed Butterfly for DDR. SMiLE.dk’s since been recording their songs for a Japanese audience, with songs such as “Domo Domo Domo,” “Doki Doki” and “A Geisha’s Dream” (DDR players will recognize that one).

Anyways, the reason I brought up Butterfly is because this German group called Cherona got my attention with this song, similar in title and sound to Butterfly:

This one makes me think of Shinee’s Ring Ding Dong:

This one makes me think of J-pop in general, maybe a little Berryz Kobo…

    • Stephie
    • June 18th, 2010

    OMG! I am just listening to the first one now… the one by Cherona… I LOVE IT!!! Its soo…. butterflyish and j-popy (I like making up words XD) … I LOVE IT THOUGH! I NEED TO DOWNLOAD IT! … can’t wait to hear the other 2 now!

    • Stephie
    • June 18th, 2010

    The last song is a remake of a song by ATC (another german band). I know it because my dad use to play it alot when I was younger XD
    It (the original) is called “Around the World (La La La La La)” I love it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

