A story to warm your heart if it hasn’t melted in the heat XD

God, it’s been hot lately. Those of you not in the area at the time… it’s been over 30 degrees for the last 3 days. Very, very sunny. With the humidex, feels like 42 degrees. Sometimes 43. 40 if we’re lucky. Ah well, Friday’s promising thunderstorms…

Anyways, my mom and I went to pick up my report card today since the silly school was too lazy to mail them out this year. A fair amount of surprises happened over the course of that half hour we spent at the school, actually. A decimal after my mark in science threw the whole calculator out of whack and I somehow ended up with a 81.1 average… none of my marks were lower than 83Β  XD Thankfully after the inquiry we found out my real average was 90.5, and I learned that when the computer calculates the averages for silver medals it takes your 8 best marks, so if we factor out Careers and History I would’ve gotten away with a 92.8 πŸ˜‰ Speaking of History, I’m 100% certain Mme Cote got lazy at some point (thankfully before getting to me) when she was marking stuff. There is no way in Heaven, Earth or even Hell that I could have possibly gotten an 85 after all this. Ah well, suppose I am slightly thankful, now I never have to dread having another one of her classes ever again XD

But I digress, considering all that is definitely not the focus of this post. Good people who go to our school, we really do have wonderful office staff. And I’ll explain why.

See, 2 or 3 months into the year, I had this pretty, red, shiny new 8 GB USB stick for Tech. Since it didn’t come with a lanyard or a chain like my dog-tag one does, I used to just slip it into my pencil case. Well, one day while rushing back to my locker after last-period Civics, it fell out. I hadn’t realized it was missing until I went to put it back into my backpack, and when I did, I freaked out. I retraced my steps, nothing. I checked the lost and found at the office, still nothing. Absolutely dismayed, when I got home I told my mom, and she was a little mad/disappointed, and told me we’d head to The Source and I’d be buying a new stick with 100% my money (the first one was 50% my funds… I think XD).

Back to the present. To my surprise, when Saul handed me my report card, what was taped to the top right corner of the envelope? The USB stick I’d lost 6 or 7 months ago. I was so, so surprised it was there, so happy someone had found it and held on to it for so long, and slightly dismayed because I still don’t know what to do with it. Saul told me it was Mrs Blayney who’d held on to it all this time, so when we got home, my mom tapped into the OCDSB hive and dug up her e-mail for me, and I proceeded to write a heartfelt thank-you e-mail πŸ™‚

If I ever had any doubts about the office administration, they’d be gone. I just find it so amazing that someone was really willing to hold on to a complete stranger’s possession for so long…

    • The infamous MK XD
    • July 7th, 2010

    I want my marks…. XD I wonder if I’ll get them this month. I hope so.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

