Art Camp stuuuuuff

I may or may not have promised a few people I’d post stuff I made at art camp this week, but whether or not I did doesn’t matter anymore because I am posting the stuff now XD

But before I do that (har har), a little background: for the last 5 or 6 years (have to check my first scrapbook page) I’ve been going to this camp, and the camp’s actually run by my art teacher from grades 3-5, Heather Vos. It’s a pretty frickin’ awesome camp too, if I do say so myself; it’s for ages 9-14, give-or-take on the 9 part, the last two years I’ve been there as a volunteer πŸ˜‰ Heather happens to live on a farm, which is awesome. Every year there’s a new animal, too XD One year there was this evil sheep named Elmo, another year one of the donkeys had a baby named Charlotte (she was 2 or 3 weeks old when I went, and she was so adorably shy and fluffy :P), this year since one of the horses passed away (R.I.P. Honey </3), her baby, Thor, was kept around, and Heather brought in a Thoroughbred named Tibio yesterday.

Aaaanyways, you’re probably reading this because you want to see my glorious work, so here ’tis (kekeke, I’m starting to love the “More” tag XD)

(By the way, click on the images to see them full-sized, I had to scale them down a bit so they’d fit and stuff)

Firstly, you all know my zombie. I’ve decided to go with Teah’s awesome suggestion and name him Margaret.

This is the first thing we made, a pastel drawing with… those atrocious black and white blobs are supposed to be sheep XD

Next item is a sort of tradition every year. On the last day we have a sort of art show and “reception” (more like all-you-can-eat cookie buffet XD) to show our stuff to our parents, right? Well, we make invitations to take home on the first/second day, and it’s usually something with trees on it. I liked making this one, actually.

We took two days or so to draw and paint this adorable variation of M.C. Escher’s “White Cat,” it’s funny how everyone’s proportions and styles were so different XD (The star on the cat’s forehead is kinda my signature… also note I didn’t do the black outlines, I kinda liked it without them, actually :/)

One morning, Heather laid out these random wooden alligators, a salamander and 2 snakes and told us to just take one and paint it. Since I’m a volunteer, I’m kind of on the bottom of the priority list, so I had to take an alligator. At first I was just gonna paint him green and add a scale-y pattern, but then I realized how boring that was, so I went over it all with blue and made him look like a poison dart frog. His name is Charlie.

There were birdfeeders to paint. But there were 13 of them and there were 13 kids, plus me makes 14. So I got to paint a bucket with feet πŸ˜› Its name is Edgar.

This is another activity that I had to do on something else since there weren’t enough whatsimajigs for me. This was supposed to be a miniature painting on some tiny framed disc, I ended up stuck with a canvas 4 times the size of those things XD

This was the second-most time-consuming project we did. (First was papier machΓ© :P) It’s called “nail art.” First there was painting the board all white. Then half-blue. Then half-purpley-blue. Then nailing 30-40 nails into the frickin’ thing. Then tying 4 different kinds of string to nails, zig-zagging the strings through the nails, then tying more knots (God, those last knots were tedious…) but the final product actually looks good.

We made these t-shirts today; we make t-shirts pretty much every year, but I liked tie-dyeing them the most πŸ˜›
Funny story behind the paint sploches, actually. See, when I was about to work on that vertical Jess with the orange and pink lettering, as I was pouring myself some pink, I sneezed and got some pink on my shirt. I still remember what Heather taught me ages ago: if you make a mistake, make something good out of it. So, I figured “Hey, let’s make it look like that was on purpose.”

Saved my favorite for last ^.^ This is a painting we did with Heather’s daughter Sophie, and it was pretty time-consuming too (mostly because at the beginning there was barely enough paint for everyone to finish the first layer :/ Then there was soooo much blotting to do…) At least the trees were fun XD Even though the bottom left-hand corner really bugs me…

    • MK
    • July 16th, 2010

    Awesome! πŸ˜€ You’re so artistic :P. No pretzels in your artwork? XD

    • Stephie
    • July 19th, 2010

    Jess…. just pure awesomeness! I knew you were an AMAZING artist…. but there were just WOOW! ;p I liked Margret, and the two paintings with the squiggly trees πŸ˜€

    • Stephie
    • July 19th, 2010

    Blah: I meant to say I liked those three the most. I also liked everything too ;D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

