Adventures on the Maasdam: Day 5

(Another part of my cruise story ;D I’m being really vague when referring to my family just in case some stranger stumbles upon these… JESS, REMEMBER TO PUT THE “MORE” TAG BEFORE YOU POST)

Today’s towel animal: It’s either a lobster or a fish…

So, Charlottetown today. Never been to PEI before. All I’m really interested in is the red sand anyways, I’m pretty intent on getting one of those dyed shirts or something dyed with the red sand, there’s no way I’ll be able to prove I was in PEI if I don’t get one 😉

We had breakfast at the fancy restaurant today. I had Belgian waffles this morning because I thought it’d end up being a smaller meal than yesterday’s 3-egg omelette. Still didn’t manage to finish though… but really, the waffles weren’t very light, so I don’t blame me XD

Dad let the boys sleep in this morning because one had a cold and the other was up until quarter to one. So I got a half hour to nap in the room while they went to get breakfast at the buffet.

PEI is a very small place. It’s also very boring. Pretty to look at for a while, but very boring. We visited the Province House, watched a history video there, then visited the Cows ice cream place and took pictures with THE Cows cow, then ran out of stuff to do. Thankfully there was free, working Wifi at the pier, but I had to go get my laptop because I didn’t want to get my hopes up before we found out whether or not the Wifi worked.

So I managed to get 50% of what I wanted to get done, done. But the connection sucked and people didn’t wanna stick around long enough, so I had to haul off. But I got a dyed towel that says “This towel was white before I went to PEI” 😀 Then I had nothing to do again, so after grabbing some pizza and ice cream for a small lunch, I went to the library and read for like 3 hours.

Afterwards, I got bored again, so I kept working on my weather guides. Then mom came back, it was almost dinner time, so we changed (we weren’t exactly in “smart casual” clothes at the time XD), then went up on deck for a bit to watch as the ship pulled out of the harbour. Some moron in a sailboat almost got himself run over by our boat… and before anyone tries to say “Maybe the wind was working against him,” when we were like 50 meters away and a few seconds after the captain had honked the ship horn, another guy had to pull up beside the sailboat to let him know that he was about to get run over.

So, dinner. I’d already seen the menu earlier today so I already knew what I was going for: for starters, “Italian Wedding Soup”, which was cool: think it was chicken broth, lots of fancy herb-y-looking things in it, and macaroni-like noodles and little meatballs. Then the main course was turkey and gravy and stuffing 😀 The stuffing definitely wasn’t as good as homemade stuffing, but everything else tasted great. For dessert, this thing that was described as “the pie that eats like a candy bar!” Basically, it was a layer of chocolate cake, then a layer of cream cheese, then a layer of melted Snickers bars. I waited for the top layer to solidify and took it off, then ate the cream cheese on its own, then devoured the chocolate-y goodness that remained 😉

After dinner, the ship was gonna pass under Confederation Bridge, the estimated time was 7:00 PM. I think we didn’t get under until like 7:45 or something, but it was still funky waiting up there. Mom struck up a conversation  with a Yugoslavian-American guy, and I saw a funky little rainbow in a cloud, dunno if the picture turned out well though XD Confederation bridge is nearly 18 km long… that’s a long bridge o.o

After that, we went to see this comedian/impersonator guy… he was funny. He could do a lot of different voices. The first part of the show was obviously aimed at the older audience, but I recognized some of the stuff from Bewitched, I Dream of Genie and Get Smart… the second part was great. “Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader?: President Edition”, to name one thing. It was Obama vs. Clinton vs. Bush. Somehow Ronald Reagan won XD Oh, and it was so great towards the end, he did a funky medley of Imagine and Hey Jude, and he got everyone to wave their arms and sing along to the na-na-na’s, it was awesome…

No plans after the show, so I took a shower. Still dunno what I’ll do tomorrow since we’ll be holed up on the ship all day while we cross the St. Laurent river…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

