Reasons why I really shouldn’t be in IB physics.

Been a while since I’ve ranted, it’d be nice to blow off some steam XD But I digress, I’m still pissed at myself for letting Mr Wardle talk me into not dropping.

I know physics are supposed to be important to whatever my future career path is. But really, what am I actually missing out on by dropping from IB physics to academic physics? Other than the pace (it’s like comparing the standard to higher level math classes) and the fact that they don’t waste time coming up with their own labs, people actually learn stuff in academic physics.

I don’t want to learn how to solve equations from a textbook, I want to learn from a teacher. In class. Not on my own time which I know I wouldn’t be spending doing better things, but hey, better to be a happy and deprived student than a stressed and deprived one.

I really hate the IB style in physics. They just go “here’s a freaking ton of homework that covers most of the Ontario curriculum, go teach yourself how to do it on your own time because we’re gonna waste time designing labs instead.” That’s my take, at least. I’ve talked to some of the people in my class, some of them don’t even know what they’re doing there. To quote someone that’s not me: “I’m just gonna sit around and see how long it takes for me to like this class.”

I can’t hate physics or my future goes down the drain. I can’t stand the constant stress that this class is giving me. I can’t stand coming home from school every day with an extra ten pounds in my bag from the stupid textbook and stupid lab book. I can’t stand that I have to wait so long before I can finally drop this stupid waste of my time.

Guess I’ll just have to count the days until the Tuesday after Thanksgiving. I hate those stupid gnomes. I want all these wasted hours of my life back >:/

    • MK
    • September 30th, 2010

    O.o you have to wait until then? Ah well XD You’re not missing much, anyways. You may have some trouble catching up, though :P. This class requires that you actually show up every once in a while, and that you show an understanding of how to draw basic graphs (excel is allowed) XD. Are you sure you can handle the pressure?

      • J
      • October 1st, 2010

      It sounds like a challenge that will require my fullest strength and potential, but I think if I put my heart, mind and soul into it, I’ll be able to survive academic.
      … XD

    • MK
    • October 9th, 2010

    Have you gotten your test back yet?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

